Latest News‎ > ‎

Player of the Year 2012

posted 2 Sept 2012, 08:25 by knight moves   [ updated 2 Sept 2012, 08:37 ]
The Peter Jackson Trophy is awarded to the player having the best overall performance in league and cup matches, while representing Stafford Chess Club.  Results considered for this term were those from the Summer league of the 2011, along with all league and cup matches from the 2012 winter season.  (Full player stats for 2011-12 and other years can be found here).

In contrast to last year where Kazik Wozniak virtually ran away with this trophy, this year it couldn’t have been closer.  Denis Nesbitt and Malcolm Armstrong could hardly be separated. 

Denis took an early lead, remaining unbeaten until mid-October where he dropped his first full point against Stourbridge.  Clearly disliking the taste of defeat, Denis then remained unbeaten right through to the U130 cup match against Newcastle in March. By this time Denis had built up quite a lead in the performance stats. 

Malcolm had a slower start to the season, taking only one win from his first 7 matches.  However, a significant improvement throughout the winter league period kept Malcolm in the fight.  An unbeaten run of 8 matches soon had him on Denis’ heels, and a final push to the finish with 5½ / 7 was just enough to snatch the title. 

In taking the 2012 Player of the Year title, Malcolm clocked up a record of 8 wins, 10 draws and only 3 losses from his 21 games.  He remained unbeaten in the North Staffs Division 1 and in all Cup matches, and lost only a single match in the Wolverhampton league division 1.  He also won the Simon Cup, a time handicapped club competition (although that result didn't count towards the Player of the Year award).

Congratulations go to Malcolm, and a special mention for Denis who came so close.

Malcolm with his hands already on the Simon Cup and being presented with the Peter Jackson Trophy by Club Secretary Andrew Leadbetter